NEWS > General
Posted by Equestrian Queensland on 29/03/2017.

2017 AQUIS Racehorse Retraining Triequithon

The 2017 AQUIS Racehorse Retraining Triequithon was nothing short of spectacular.

The competition comprised of 12 riders showcasing eventing to a keen crowd of race day patrons at Doomben Racecourse.

The field showed the versatility of not just retired racehorses, but of the sport as well with 40 years difference between the youngest and oldest in the field.

John Healey took an early and convincing lead having only been promoted off the wait list early last week. However, after the final few riders Paris Auer went to the top of the scoreboard by 1.7 penalties and Kate Dreverman in a close third.

Time for cross country and the shortened course was perfectly set, allowing the horses to show off their acceleration and scope while asking just enough questions to cause a few time faults.

By the time the showjumping started, everyone was on the edge of their seats! 

Kate Dreverman was in first place with less than one rails in hand and both Madeline Wilson and Matt Gaske were in second place with identical percentages and time on cross country.

Amelia Fitzgerald riding the smallest horse in the field at just 15.1hh produced the first clear round and set the standard that only two others were able to meet.

Both Madeline and Matt took a rail each causing a countback on their showjumping time. 

When Kate took to the arena she had a rail up her sleeve, but knew she did not want to use it. She put her trust in her partnership with Global Victory aka Humphrey and produced a perfect round to clinch the win and emerge as the 2017 2017 AQUIS Racehorse Retraining Triequithon Champion!

Thank-you to everyone who contributed to the event, especially the merry band of workers who worked tirelessly for two days to ensure the competition arena was ready for the rider's and spectators to arrive. And of course thank you to the sponsors for your support and contributions towards the event.

The 2017 event evolved significantly on last year and we can't wait to see how much further is can grow by 2018!

Photos and videos of the event are available of the Triequithon Facebook Page

Final Results

1st Kate Dreverman (Global Victory) - 50.80 penalties
2nd Matt Gaske (Nelsons Defeat) - 58.50
3rd Madeline Wilson (Aces High) - 58.50
4th Emily Rink (Lila Grace) - 61.00
5th Paris Auer (Alchemist) - 61.50
6th Amelia Fitzgerald (Posh Party) - 61.70
7th Justine Streater (Sanctified) - 63.70
8th Emma Sullivan (Drive) - 64.40
9th Katie Gorell (Editors Gift) - 66.70
10th Natalie Siiankoski (Immortailis) - 72.70
11th Juliet Partridge (Aquaterra) - 86.50
12th John Healey (Classic Intentions) - 95.20

Other Top News