NEWS > General
Posted by Equestrian Queensland on 27/03/2017.
Photo Credit: Tammy Law

Queenslander's Victorious at National Awards

Equestrian Australia, on Friday, announced its 2016 Sport Achievement Award winners and Hall of Fame inductees at a ceremony held in the Stockmen’s Bar and Grill at the Brisbane Showgrounds.

Hosted in Brisbane for the first time, there was a proud Queensland presence felt among the icons of Australian Equestrian sport including Olympians Wayne Roycroft, John Fahey, Gillian Rolton and Stuart Tinney.

Equestrian Australia CEO Paula Ward paid tribute to the recipients; “Congratulations to all the outstanding horses and people awarded tonight for their huge contribution to Equestrian sport in Australia,”.

Queensland was well represented among the finalists with Christine Bradfield (Administrator), Graeme Watts (Official) and The 2016 Aquis Showjumping Classic (Event) all being successful in their respective categories.

Christine’s unwavering commitment as secretary of Jumping Queensland has been instrumental to its success in 2016. Her infectious work ethic has set an example and organisational skills provide a dependable constant for the committee to be focused and accountable.

Graeme is an FEI level 3 jumping judge and course designer whose extensive career was punctuated with the honour of being an Australian team selector for the Nations Cup and Olympic Games. Despite overseas commitments, Graeme remained regularly involved in competition at all levels throughout Queensland as well as mentoring and educating officials. 

The Aquis Showjumping Classic was the richest showjumping event on the 2016 annual calendar. It attracted more than 500 horses including 200 from interstate for the 10 days of competition at the picturesque Elysian Fields precinct  which was transformed into a social hub with a thriving trade village.

Congratulations to our Queensland recipients, this is a great honor and very well deserved.

On behalf of all our members we would like to thank all the finalists for the contribution to our sport.

View the full list of winners here 

Other Top News