Amateur Owner Rider Scheme

Preamble: The National “Adult Amateur Owner Rider” (AAOR) Division administered by Equestrian Australia and the “Dressage Qld AAOR Series” are not mutually exclusive. Please read this fact sheet to familiarise yourself with the criteria surrounding each scheme.

The spirit of the AAOR scheme is to support non-professional riders to compete on a level playing field against their peers; to support grass roots riders; and to improve participation at competitive events

 2020 AAOR Criteria


Criteria taken from the EA Dressage Rules

4.6.1 Amateur Owner Rider (AOR) Amateur Owner Rider (AOR) is a division of Official Competitive riders. In order to qualify as an amateur owner rider, all riders must declare that they meet the following criteria:

a) The rider must be a Competitive member of their state branch of Equestrian Australia

b) The horse must have a life registration with Equestrian Australia

c) The horse/pony registration lodged with Equestrian Australia must reflect the name of the amateur owner rider as owner or part-owner of the horse. Leased horses are eligible if the amateur owner rider competitor is reflected as the lessee on the EA horse registration of that horse

d) The rider’s income may only include sponsorship and occasional payment for coaching

e) The horse/pony must be primarily ridden and trained by the rider/owner with only periodic ridden assistance by person(s) other than the owner, specifically during the period 4 weeks prior to the event

f) The rider must be aged 21 and over – can enter in the calendar year in which they turn 21

g) The division is for Official Competitive competitions. The Organising Committees may run this division at any level (ideally at all levels Preliminary - GP) and it can be run either within the competition or separately

h) Organising Committees must designate the AOR on the draw if there is a separate competition conducted within the one competition

i) for a State/Regional/Club Leader Board it would be ideal to select several events at which scores will count towards the annual Leader Board

j) if the OC receives evidence that the rider is in breach of these rules then this rider will forfeit any awards and prizes


Note, this is an initiative of Dressage Queensland to encourage participation and support of EQ-affiliated dressage clubs running Championship-level events


  • An AAOR is defined by the EA Dressage Rules, section 4.6.1.

  • Series events are allocated to DQ 1*, 2*, Qld Open State Championships and National AAOR Championships (if held) as noted in the Dressage Qld Calendar.

  • Horse/pony-rider combinations are required to achieve at least 6 scores at the same level (Preliminary, Novice, Elementary, Medium, Advanced, Small Tour, Medium Tour, Big Tour ) at nominated Series events to be eligible finalists. A combination’s 6 best percentages are averaged to give them their final percentage for the Series. Please note, at Small Tour level, combinations can achieve all 6 scores at only Prix St Georges level or only Intermediate 1 level or a combination of both; at Medium Tour level combinations can achieve all 6 scores at only Intermediate A level or only Intermediate B level or a combination of both; and at Big Tour level combinations can achieve all 6 scores at only Intermediate II level or only Grand Prix level or a combination of both.

  • The combination at each level (Preliminary, Novice, Elementary, Medium, Advanced, FEI Small Tour) with the highest average percentage at the end of the competition season will be the overall Series winner for the year (winners will be announced at the Dressage Queensland Awards Night at the end of the year)


  1. Competitors are to identify on their entry form at the time of entry if they wish to enter a horse as eligible for the AAOR Division
  2. Normal grading points apply as per current Equestrian Australian rules
  3. All horses will be placed in the same draw unless, at the discretion of the Organising Committee, the entries warrant a splitting of the class
  4. The result sheets will show the entire competition results. Ribbons, prizes and prize money will be presented as per normal for the entire class. The AAOR will be tagged on the entire results. The ‘extra award’ AAOR rosettes will be presented to the AAOR place getters
  5. There will be no prizes or prize money associated with placing as an AAOR, except at the discretion of the Organising Committee
  6. At the discretion of the Organising Committee, an overall AAOR champion prize may be awarded

2020 Horseland Gold Coast AAOR Series

8 March Park Ridge Active Riding Group - Competitive 2* 
29 March Equestiran Gold Coast Club - Competitive 1* 
26 April Caboolture Dressage Group - Competitive 1* 
2-3 May North Coast Active Riders Group - Competitive 1*
8-10 May Lockyer Equestrian Group - Brenda Wittman Classic - Competitive 2*
16-17 May Tweed Valley Equestrian Group - Competitive 1*
31 May Samford Equestrian Group - Competitive 1*
7 June Park Ridge Active Riding Group - Lex Wills Memorial - Competitive 2*
13-14 June Caboolture Dressage Group - Competitive 2*
28 June Equestrian Gold Coast Club - Competitive 1*
11-12 July Far North Equestrian Group - Competitive 1*
18-19 July DQRSC - QLD Dressage Riders Series - Competitive 2*
1-2 August Summerland Dressage Club (Bangalow) - Far North Championships - Competitive 1*
8-9 August Maryborough Active Riders Club - Competitive 2*
8-9 August Far North Equestrian Group - Competitive 2*
22-23 August QLD State Pony Championships - Competitive 
16-20 September Brisbane CDI & QLD State Dressage Championships - Competitive 3*
27 September Gladstone Calliope Equestrian Group - Competitive 1*